When a new lead or a new deal is created, then a label called "new" might be added to those leads and deals. This indicates that action needs to be taken on those leads and deals.
The "new" label would be removed if any of the following conditions are met.
A note, task, file or call is added.
An email is sent.
An SMS is sent.